artoxin Logo Header
Trio Leilani

Trio Leilani

Friday, April 26, 2024, 7.30pm

Program Bach - Modern
Martina Silvester - flute
Nina Takai - violin
Katerina Giannitsioti - cello

by J. S. Bach, Henrik Ajax (commissioned composition with world premiere), M. Borboudakis, G. B. Platti,

Pure and clear
A juxtaposition of baroque structures dominated by basso continuo and the freedom of contemporary music.

Focusing on the essence of the music, the tension between bass and upper voice is all the more effective as cellist Katerina Giannitsioti and flautist Martina Silvester have decided to play the Sonata in E minor BWV 1034 and the Trio Sonata in G major BWV 1039 (here with violinist Nina Takai) by J. S. Bach with cello only. S. Bach only with cello as basso continuo and not with an opulently ornamented harpsichord - not unusual in Bach's time, by the way.

Commissioning contemporary composers to compose something in the spirit of Bach to match the respective sonata is the other special feature of this project. The choice fell on the Swedish composer Henrik Ajax.
The work will be premiered on this evening. The composer will be present.

Registration at:
Free admission - donations welcome!

Photo Credits:
Katerina Giannitsioti - Cello
Copyright Vanessa Daly

Photo Martina Silvester - flute
Copyright Diane von Schoen